h1

A Bug’s Life

Monday, June 25, 2012

Serendipity.  After posting about edible ant queens recently, edible insects seem to be wherever.  First, on Saturday here in Oaxaca I saw a whole book on edible insects.  I may have to go back and get.  And then today, Slate.com has an article on insects and kelp as the necessary future staples of a sustainable food source for an ever growing population.  Oaxaca, of course, gets a shout out.

On a less serendipitous, but still interesting note, in discussions on Facebook, I was reminded about the worms that come in bottles of mezcal.  While I’ve drank the mezcal, I’ve never been able to bring myself to eat the worm.  It seems like a joke to play on a drunk foreigner.  Maybe one of these days, I’ll drink enough mezcal to be up for the challenge.  I also learned about the jumil, an edible stink bug!  Apparently, it is common to eat these live and my friends report a sweet, licorice taste.

Obviously, I still have a lot more exploring to do if I want to consider myself a true bug-eating aficionado.

Leave a Reply

